Space Between the Universes – “It’s Time to Wake up!”

Published October 14, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

image credit: http://farm2.staticflickr.com/

                                     image credit: http://farm2.staticflickr.com/

seven

It’s been so long since I visited our beach.  This lonely place of dreams and visions.  The moon is staring down at me – again!  Taunting, mocking, laughing at my innocence.  I try to remember my journey.  How I got here.  Have I ever really moved?  I stood on the shoreline and looked as far as I could see.  Why did I always end up here?  I looked and looked at the horizon.  What was out there?  I followed the line to the left and then to the right.  Just an endless sea – still quiet, still calm.  I sat down and looked back at the moon.  It winked at me.  And as I blinked, there he was, standing looking down  at me, smiling the most beautiful smile I had ever seen, that lit up his face and gave his eye a twinkle that seemed to give his whole presence an air of gentle grace.

“I’m glad to see you again.”  He said softly and sat down next to me on the warm sand.  “I was wondering when you’d be back.”

“I’ve been busy.”  I said.

“I know.”  He replied, “So have I.”

“why are you here?”  He suddenly asked.  His now gentle smile curling ever so slightly.

I hadn’t expected that question.  “I don’t know”  I replied, “I suppose it is because I have too many questions.  Too many!  Why am I so confused?”

My Lord sighed and nodded.  “Of course you’re confused.  Your universe is full of strange contradictions and theories  that don’t quite add up.  I have tried to reach you – I have given you everything you need to see the truth clearly…

…I looked at the moon again…

…”but you always complicate matters by looking in the wrong direction.  Stop looking up and fix your eyes on me.”  He said gently.  I took my eyes off of the moon and looked back at Jesus.  His gentle smile turned to calm concern.  “It’s time.”  He said after a short pause.

“Time for what?”  I asked him.

“It’s time to wake up.  You can’t keep coming here.  It’s such a lonely place.  Now – I want to give you a gift.”

“But I like coming here.”  I whispered.”  He nodded and then bent down and scooped up a handful of sand, which trickled through his fingers.

“But I didn’t create this universe – you did.  The universe I created for you is so special.  Made just for you – perfect for all your needs.”  He cupped his hands around the sand in his hand, making a ball and shook the contents and when  he opened his hands again, he held another bubble.  But this one was different from the rest.  It didn’t float delicately in the air.  It was solid, sitting in the palm of his hand.  Inside the bubble I could see a strange  image of the Earth; not as a globe but as a disc, so that I was looking down at it flat – spread out like a two dimensional map, with all the continents in the middle and a ring of sea around the edge and then ice and snow around that, until it touched the sides of the bubble.  In the top part of the bubble were clouds and the sun, moon and stars.  In the bottom of the bubble, just darkness.  I couldn’t understand why he was showing me such a distorted image of the universe.

I shook my head in my confusion.  “Why are you showing me a flat Earth?”

Jesus got up and dusted himself down.  He walked around me, holding the bubble on his palm and looking at it curiously.  “Hold out your hand!”  He commanded, and as I did so, he placed the bubble in it.  It was solid, like glass!  I looked down at the strange disc-like Earth and had a sudden image of Terry Pratchett’s Disc World, riding on the back of a turtle.  It just didn’t make sense.

“Have you had enough time exploring in this place now?  You know that your mind has the free will wander wherever it wishes and I don’t ever want you to stop dreaming.  Keep creating – it is in your nature  to do so.  But it is time to stop looking up and set your eyes on the Earth.  There is enough to think about with your feet set on solid ground

“your universe is so small.  Look around you.  These are your neighbours – get to know one another again.  Talk to each other, help each other.  Stop polluting this delicate system – see how enclosed your Earth is?  How will you escape when you have destroyed all you can see?  I have given you a gift – take care of it.  It is enough for now.”  He took the glass universe back and said to me:  “this one belongs to me.  All the other universes are of no consequence to you; they float on the wind, or bob on the sea, they hide in the cracks and break all too easily – this universe is strong and the only one that matters – perfect because I have made it for you.

“Can I come back and see you again?”  I asked him.

“We’ll see.”  He said.  “Next time I might just come for you.  So do all I have said and live your life to the fullest.  Remember that I love you.  Now love your neighbours and take care of the Earth.  Stop worrying and remember who is holding the universe in his hands.  And I will see you soon.”

Leave a Reply

