WHY should I label myself a CHRISTIAN?

Published May 6, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

Right now I feel like I am having to fight for my right to call myself a Christian. I feel God speaking to me recently through my interactions with others, so I am sharing.  Some people both Christians AND non Christians may not like it, but to be honest I don’t care. I am trying to get on with my own spiritual journey and I have had trouble over the years BELIEVE me trying to justify to MYSELF why I would want to be called a Christian; and so whilst I have been trying to explain my point of view to other people just lately – I feel it has just been God speaking to ME. Why should I label myself a Christian? This is what I have to say…

I think you are just focusing on that word far too much, you are worrying about it, obsessing over it. yes it is a label, it is a NAME – but it is just a word to describe the body of Christ – his people and – how you see yourself. You ARE you and God made you YOU, the individual. He gave you an individual fingerprint and an individual personality and he stamped HIS LOVE for YOU, your individuality on your heart. He died for YOU. And he wants YOU to come to him “just as you are” – as YOU are – he doesn’t want a carbon copy “Christian” He wants YOU with all your individual quirks and lovely self – but he wants you also to be a part of HIS “body” which is his people, his church – his “CHRISTIAN” people – a label WE give for the BODY AND BRIDE of CHRIST that sets us apart as his most special, beautiful people that he has called INDIVIDUALLY through each of our hearts. We need to have a name to link us to God and what better name than that of the one who gave his life so that you might live forever! I am pouring all of this out of my heart and I feel like it is God writing this right now. I feel maybe he would be afraid that you are missing the point! The point is Jesus. We are not Jews, we are not Muslims, we are not Buddhists, we are not New-~Age crystal worshippers – we might understand about where some of this stuff is coming from but we can see it as being a part of the stuff that goes on in the physical world that God says – yes it’s all real, it’s all valid as in symbolic for certain things but don’t worship it – worship me through my son who I have given for YOU so that you will know how special YOU are to me. We are not all those other groups – those labels – we are CHRISTIANS because we are in CHRIST we are re-born in his image. I can’t keep going round and round trying to make you see through my eyes – I want that label – I WANT to be a Christian; I don’t want to be a Jew like my Mum’s family, I don’t want to be a Buddhist BUT I understand where my Mum is coming from because the old ways LED to the new ways, the NEW testament – that Jesus is the way, the truth, the LIFE. I understand the ways of Buddha and I think Jesus did too; so I meditate as I have always done, but now I meditate with scripture in my heart so that I can close my eyes and meet God in that quiet place, really go inside myself and come into his presence. I understand about the UFO and alien culture and I follow what’s going on there because I believe it is leading to the end days and they are part of the angelic battle – but I don’t worship them, I worship Jesus for saving us from the devil’s plan! To lead us away from God! So I call myself a Christian – a name Jesus would not have called himself – he was a Jew but he said the old ways were DEAD which is why he had to die, to bring us a new way THROUGH HIM and yes we probably could have labelled that Jesus movement in any way – but WE – his church, his BODY labelled it after his name so that we would always remember that through CHRIST EVERYTHING is possible and only through him can we live FOREVER! If you don’t believe that then I’m just spitting words into your face and not into your heart and I can do no more to say how I feel about it. This is how I feel and how I feel GOD is talking to me and through me for YOU. But if you don’t want to label yourself as Christian that is STILL YOUR choice – nobody is going to hate you for it – I love you, God loves you, stop worrying about a LABEL a WORD and get on with getting to know HIM.

One comment on “WHY should I label myself a CHRISTIAN?

  • Wow! This site is amazing! I can totally relate to this. It is so heart touching and inspirational! This post really stuck out for me as I was reading through a couple of blog posts, and I really felt passion coming out of these words. It was like the blog post was speaking directly at me! Thank you for sharing your wisdom!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

