The Fruit of the Spirit – A hard lesson (I was whacked round the head with a rotten banana – LOL)

Published May 4, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

Some Christians need to get down off their high horses and look at their attitude – feeling sad about how people have talked to me recently.  And because of that I had a bit of a rant on Facebook.  Shouldn’t have done that – BUT – it taught me a lesson…

I had had a bad time with the way some Christians had been interacting with me and so I had a rant.  A new Christian friend had posted a video on my wall – with good intentions; she thought it was funny and wanted to share it with me.  But I was nursing some resentment about my interactions with a few people and the video made me even madder LOL – this is the video first off…

The video upset me and I told her I didn’t like it and actually I found it quite offensive and then said:

I can see what he’s saying – an yeah the world’s crazy but you know what – there’s a fine line between saying the Devil’s in the world and saying all of mankind is stupid! Not all science or ‘New age beliefs’ (whatever that is) are at odds with Christianity you know! I don’t know, I do wonder if we are living in an age of too many polarities – you’re either this or that – no! That’s not right. Maybe I’m just feeling cynical this evening. I’ve had a great day at bible by the beach – but I keep being treated very dismissively by some “Christians” and quite frankly it’s starting to really …me off – I thought patience was a virtue! There’s nothing worse than people cutting you off when you are trying to talk to them! Like you are beneath them or something. Well, I’m starting to see this a LOT and usually by well known Christians too! So what does that say? I feel God is speaking to me through the bible and my everyday interactions with people and the world – but today I feel certain Christians need to get down off their high horse and look at their attitude because they get people’s backs up. We are all living in this world together aren’t we? Jesus went where the people are – you’re not going to win people over being snobby, know it all preachy, 2 faced… OK Rant over – sorry about that – having a vent!

But what happened is – she took my venting in the wrong light and started saying this is why she doesn’t want to be labelled as a Christian and how it’s just another belief and with each line of her response I could feel her moving further away – distancing herself – running away.  And then I felt as if God was slapping me round the face with the fruit of the spirit – saying see!  This is why you have to be what you want to see in others!

And I was like – Oh my goodness – what? I AM a Christian, don’t get me wrong! I love Jesus and I believe he died on the cross for me (for MY sins) it’s more than just a belief and I HAVE had the Holy Spirit working in my life – and you know I’ve had those miracles because I told you about them. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying I’m not a Christian, and things in this world, people in this world who are distracted from God’s purpose that upsets me and infuriates me but what I’m angry with is Christians who think they are above every one else. There are always people who think they are better than the average person – that’s got nothing to do with being a Christian or someone of another faith or no faith – that’s just human nature! LOL I think I’m more upset with them because they ARE Christians and because as I’m getting closer to Jesus in my own walk through reading the bible daily etc. I feel close to him and then some Christians come along and pollute that. By not expressing the fruit of the spirit in their own interactions. .

I tried to find a little video just listing the Fruit of the Spirit to demonstrate them and found this fun one:

Then after thinking about it – this is how I felt:

So when I’m ignored, put down, not welcomed, dismissed by “Christians” I don’t say – oh no Christianity must be wrong, God isn’t here in this walk and the world is better!! NO! I say – these people who call themselves Christians are not demonstrating the Fruit of the Spirit and therefore they are not being a good example of what Christ wants to see in their Spirit – all of the above! When I come away feeling like that – I’m angry – but at the same time I am not angry at God – I’m angry at those people for not staying true to Jesus’ teachings of the Fruit of the Spirit and I have to pray that God give me MORE of those = LOVE, JOY, PEACE, PATIENCE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS, FAITHFULNESS, GENTLENESS, SELF-CONTROL so that I can stand in truth myself.

Now I feel bad that I have not demonstrated it by getting angry, venting and putting doubt in my friend’s mind that Jesus IS the way, the, truth, the life.  God REALLY wanted to teach me a lesson today.

2 comments on “The Fruit of the Spirit – A hard lesson (I was whacked round the head with a rotten banana – LOL)

  • Laura, love hearing how Pappa is leading and guiding you.
    Anger is is an emotion given by God, it is how we deal with it that counts. What you have learned is great and will lead you deeper into more revelation from our God.
    People are all on a journey and some are further down the line than others.
    Keeping our eye fixed on Jesus will truly keep us on track. He just loves responding to our gaze. Jesus is in us and we learn how to carry Him well. When we turn our attention on Him, He can’t help but come close to His loved ones.
    You are LOVED!!!
    Stay focused, keep pursuing his presence and your journey will be wild and you will attract others to a relationship with the lover of our soul.

    🙏🙏👍👍

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

