I AM

Published April 24, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

I’m so sorry you’re sad

She said sympathetically

Through an indifferent powder painted smile

Sad?

I whispered through a veil of misty emotion

Sad…is your goldfish dying unexpectedly overnight

Sad…is saying goodbye to a visiting friend

Who you won’t see for a while

Sad… is missing your favourite show on TV

Because you were late home

Sad…is not what I am…

What I am is almost impossible

To put into words…

I am…lost, starving and thirsty…

Stumbling around like a sheep lost in the wilderness…

Or in the desert

With no direction, no compass to guide me

And no cover from the unrelenting scorch of the burning sun

With no bread to satisfy my hunger

And no water to quench my thirst

I am…in despair

With no purpose – blind, invisible

Unloved and unlovable

Numb from the never-ending storms

That whips my already battered spirit

Into an unrecognizable rag

I am…torn

The leftover wrapping of that beautiful gift

That your mother gave you on your 16th birthday

All that’s left is a crumpled piece of gold and a blue bow

I am…lonely

A withered branch that can no longer produce sweet fruits

Brittle from lack of care

I am…misunderstood

Standing vulnerable in the line of fire on a battlefield

Exposed – a target for flaming arrows and hollow bullets

I am…tired

One who has been in the darkest of tunnels

Where hope has been an abandoned lover

Sitting on an empty, stationary train

Waiting for the lights to come back on

I am there now…on that train

Sitting in the dark

Too weary to get up and search for a way out

Silence roaring like a wind in my ears…

It’s so dark and so quiet that all I can hear is my own heart

Beating, fast, hard – fear creeps in and chains me to the seat…and then

A voice and a light, way off in the distance,

A pinprick at the end of the tunnel

And the voice grows louder

And the light grows brighter…

I…

AM…

I AM…

I AM that I am…

Forever, unchanging

I am the light of the world…

 I am the bright morning star – let me light your path

I am the way, the truth, the life – walk with me

I am the good shepherd – follow me

I am the door of the sheep – the way to freedom

I am the bread of life – eat and be satisfied

I am the living water – drink and quench your thirst

I am the root…

I am the true vine – with me you will become fruitful and multiply

I am your shield – I will protect and reward you

Take heart…

I am the resurrection and the life

I am the Lord your God – take my hand and do not be afraid

I am coming soon…

 

© Laura Crean 24th April 2015

Genesis 15:1,

Exodus 3:14,

Psalm 22 Psalm 23 Psalm 40, Psalm 69, Psalm 102 (he has heard and answered)

Isaiah 41:4 Isaiah 41:13

John 6:35, John 8:12,  John 8:24, John 8:58, John 10: 7-9, John 10: 11, 14, John 11:25,  26, John 15:1 -8

Revelations 1:8, Revelations 1:17, 18 Revelations 21:6, Revelations 22:13, Revelations 22:16

Inspired by – https://www.icr.org/article/500/

A quick commentary on “I AM”

It is a poem that builds on the theme of ‘I AM’ – I AM is what God calls himself “I AM that I am means he is forever and unchanging – eternally God. All of the I AM lines are taken directly from scripture and are in direct response to the needs and suffering of humanity (the I ams in the first half of the poem.) Also taken from scripture but then built on around my own depression and anxieties. The train represents the journey, the tunnel, the turning point. The moment God found me and told me who he is and how he can save me from my despair. The scriptures are scattered throughout the bible, in both the Old Testament and the New Testament. They could be stand alone poems – yes – but they are very much both dependent on each other. The first half can be read as very much set in the now, in contemporary times, and many may relate to any or all of the themes of human suffering highlighted, the second half of the poem comes directly from the bible and so it shows that even with the time span and language difference, God is still answering our calls, they are the same human conditions wherever in time you care to read about them. In this way it confirms that God is as he says – the I AM – forever, unchanging, the beginning and the end, always alive, always working in people’s lives. That is what the poem represents.

 

One comment on “I AM

  • Leave a Reply

