Walkin the Walk

Published March 27, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

WALKIN THE WALK POEM

This poem is for my 3 gorgeous daughters.  This is their year of changes.  All of them are stepping up to the next level of their journey.  My youngest daughter Alice is moving up from junior school (year 6) to high school (year 7).  This is a big year for her, she’s in that pre-teen period where she is no longer a baby but will always be my baby girl.  Soon the hard work starts as she embraces that journey towards GCSEs and puberty.  She is steppin onto a path both her sisters have walked, in a good school that I know will nurture her, push her forward to work hard and find her path, so many paths she could take in her young life.  My middle daughter Shannon is coming out of that period and moving on up to College, leaving year 11 and onto training in her chosen career – the Performing Arts.  She is such a bright and driven young lady and her shoes are steppin out onto the stage of her young adult life.  My eldest daughter Ellenor is steppin out on the next big challenge.  She’s leaving college and entering University.  She is full of ideas and ready to push forward and really run for that degree in her chosen subject in 3D art, her journey is exciting and the hard work is just beginning.  And as for me – I’m still on that journey and everyone’s path is different, everyone’s shoes are different.  I was sitting on the bus yesterday and I just noticed out of the window, people’s shoes.  All different, distinct and right for each individual, carefully chosen or subconsciously chosen to match their personalities.  And as I watched those shoes walking around town I wondered about each of their attitudes to their chosen paths through life.  That’s when the poem began to live inside me.  I looked at my comfortable, sensible shoes and I wondered what they said about me and my journey.  I need comfortable shoes because I still have a long walk ahead of me, but I’m ready for it and I’m now going to embrace it and I want my children to step out on their journeys and be ready too – with shoes that fit, have style and say – let’s do it – let’s walk this walk.  I couldn’t be prouder of all of them.  And in my mind’s eye I can see one more pair of shoes walking alongside my family, a pair of well-worn sandals.  And I know that he is smiling and keeping pace with every step we take, ready to lift us up on his shoulders every time the walk gets too hard.  He will make sure we don’t get left behind as long as we need him to but then he will put us back down and give us the strength to run as fast as we can to the finish line.

What shoes are you putting on in the morning?

One comment on “Walkin the Walk

  • Leave a Reply

