Parent Power Blog – Tales from the Nanny Diaries – Attention leads to Retention

Published January 10, 2015 by Laura Crean Author

Rainbow Rune Reading Room

mother_&_child_reading

This isn’t quite a Nannying story, but is from the time I was a classroom assistant in a Special Needs base in a junior school.  One of the Mum’s of the children in my group recommended me to a friend as a possible tutor for her daughter, who was struggling with her reading and writing.  I wasn’t sure about whether I was the right person for this job because I wasn’t a teacher, but the mother practically begged me, saying she had heard such good things about me and how much I had encouraged other children.  So of course, blushing and feeling very flattered I agreed.

The little girl began to come to my house every Saturday morning and for 2 hours I sat with her and encouraged her with her reading and worked around her school spellings.  I bought English workbooks from W.H. Smiths and we worked through them…

View original post 792 more words

Leave a Reply

