Novels in progress – update

Published November 11, 2014 by Laura Crean Author

Jill in the box pic

https://lauracrean.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=3114&action=edit&message=1

BALI

UPDATE – 11/11/2014

Well, the end of 2014 is looming, Christmas is around the corner and I wanted to just add a little note in here about the progress of my novels.  To put it bluntly – there is no progress at the moment.  I wish I could say I have stuck to all my deadlines and I am just tidying up all the loose ends but that is not the case.  At the moment I am beginning to wonder if I will ever find the time and will to ever finish any of my unfinished novels.

I keep seeing little messages popping up left, right and centre about writers’ progress on their 2014 NaNoWrMo works and I shake my head and think – if only I could.  Life yet again this year has gotten in the way and my mental health and daily life struggles as a single Mum trying to get off of benefits dominate my being.  After another course of counselling in the summer I was starting to feel well enough again to face the world and try and get back on the horse and back into the rat race.  Feeling inspired I wrote another kiddies book and illustrated it, started a college course and am attempting to start children’s Story Craft Workshops, so the novels have been put on the back burner once more.  But as I once again start to feel like everything I do to make my creativity pay is just hijacked by the darker side of fate, my positivity today is at an all time low.  My self-published books continue to not sell and the children’s workshops haven’t even begun to get going yet, with a mere handful of children finding their way to the Amazing crafts and creative writing activities I have on offer!  But –  I’m not going to spiral back into a full blown depression – I know I’m doing everything I can and that it isn’t about not trying, it’s just the way of the world.  I shall continue to get up each day, get through it by feeding the children and myself, doing the college course I have started, continue trying to motivate myself enough to keep trying to make my children’s workshops work and get through the dreaded Christmas season.  Next year – next year will be my year!

So I say to myself, keep going – keep going and when I have settled into my new routine I will MAKE time to progress on my novels.  I WILL finish them – keep watching this space!

❤ Laura ❤

3 comments on “Novels in progress – update

  • Hi Laura,
    I love your blog and you have outlined all your problems completely and your never say die attitude is completely right. You know in your heart it is not what you know, but who you know to get anything off the ground. As far as I am concerned you are trying all the right avenues, its just money and mums at the moment. I understand your frustration, but I don’t know what else you can do at the moment just before Christmas. You know yourself how difficult it is to fund it all. So my answer is keep on plugging and presenting your books. Sooner or later they will take off. Love you Mum xxxx

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

