Bookish Banter – Featured Author – Doug Bolton

Published March 29, 2014 by Laura Crean Author

Saturday 29th March 2014

Image

Bookish Banter is proud to present today’s Featured Author…

Image

Doug Bolton

Image

I would like to invite Doug up to the front and give him the opportunity to introduce himself.  Hi Doug, could you tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Doug Bolton. I am a retired teacher. My wife and I have three children, and 7 grandchildren. I live in Salem, Oregon in the United States.

Are you promoting a particular book at the moment?

My book, “Signs of Hope: Ways to survive in an Unfriendly World,is an award winning book that received a national award from the Reader’s Favorite Awards in 2012. I was also a runner-up in the MARsocial Author of the Year Awards February of this year. (This is similar to American Idol, except it is for authors.)

Do you write full time or fit in with other commitments?

I write full time when I can get free from everyday chores, and being a good grandpa.

What is the genre you are writing in at the moment?

I write non-fiction, self-help books that reach out to those who may be suffering from anxiety, depression, addictions, self-doubt, rejection, and the many other usual suspects.

Where did the idea come from?

The idea for my book came from my own issues with life I was having. I was severely depressed, and was ready to check out of this hotel called earth. God stopped me and led me to write, Signs of Hope: Ways to Survive in an Unfriendly World.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing for thirteen years.

Did you have to do a lot of research for your latest work?

I did a lot of reading and searching for ideas and thoughts from people who have been through the same issues I have been through and put them together to help others.

Do you think your writing is improving the more you write?

My writing has improved tremendously since I started. That happened because I joined several critique groups through the years.

What is it about writing that gets you fired up?

I write because I know I may be helping someone who is in despair, and I just may pull them out of the muck and mire.

Do your fans encourage you to keep writing and do they give you ideas?

I have received many letters, phone calls, and messages on Facebook from people who benefited from my book. It makes the hard work worthwhile.

Is this book a part of a series?  Where is it going?

This book is a part of a series of books with the main title of Signs of Hope. They will be similar to the Chicken Soup for the Soul Books. I am near the completion of my second book called, Signs of Hope: For the Weak Days. It is a devotional meant for all of those who trudge through life, and wonder what is next in their journey. The third book is, Signs of Hope: For the Military. I am a veteran, and I am sickened by the many suicides that are reported in the military. I want to reach out to the soldiers and give them hope.

Have you had some good reviews for your book?

I have had six five star reviews on my book. They all give me encouragement that I am doing the right things.

Your favourite Author is…

My favorite author is Max Lucado. His inspiring books have helped shape my life, and has giving me thoughts and ideas for my own books.

Follow this link if you want to find out more about Max Lucado’s work

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Max-Lucado/e/B000APZERY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1396098018&sr=8-1

Have you got a book trailer?

I did, but it seems to have been lost on YouTube somewhere. I am trying to search that out.

What do you do to wind down?

Believe it or not. I do crossword puzzles, solitaire, and computer games to wind down.

Do you belong to a friendly writers group and does it help?

I belong to several writers’ groups and I feel it is a must for an author to join one because it not only sharpens your skills, but you have others to bounce your ideas to.

What is you experience of editing and polishing your manuscripts?

I do editing the best I can and then turn it over to my editor, who puts pretty little red marks all over the page.  🙂

Any tips for all our budding authors out there wondering how to get started?

Just Start! I started writing because I had being doing journals for several years. There are at least three books sitting in those journals.

Link city – as many as you need to guide us round your internet trail…

www.dailsysignsofhope.com, www.dougbolton.com, www.facebook/dougbolton.com Twitter: @heavenencounter. Email: doug@dougbolton.com. I belong to Pinterest, LinkedIn, Goodreads, and My Space,  

I would like to genuinely thank you for joining us here on the ‘Bookish Banter’ Doug and taking time out to give us such an interesting insight into your writing world.  I’m sure many people will find great comfort in your books and I especially feel the third book in the series will be very well received.  Sometimes the right book just comes along at the right time for some people, and I’m sure this will be one of those books for many people struggling with depression and self doubt.  

Leave a Reply

