Bookish Banter – Featured Author – K.D Rose

Published November 30, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

Saturday 30th November 2013

Bookish Banter is proud to present today’s Featured Author…

Image

K.D Rose

Image

Feel free to introduce yourself…

I’m K.D. Rose. I am an author and a poet and I have three books of mostly poetry on Amazon and one book coming out December 18 that is for New Adults in the paranormal genre.

Please can you tell us where you are from?

I’m from Virginia and live in the Northern Virginia area (though I have traveled and lived elsewhere)

How long have you been a writer?

All my life I have tried  to write a book, since I was five. I’ve been writing poetry and keeping journals since I was about 13. I only began publishing things though in 2012.

Are you promoting a particular book?

Yes! Erasing: Shadows comes out December 18 and is available for pre-order on Dec. 7. It is Book One in a Seven Book Series for New Adults.

What genre do you write in or do you write across the board?

My first book is very literary. ‘Heavy Bags of Soul’ runs the gamut and contains poetry, short stories, Socratic dialogues and prose. My next two books, ‘Inside Sorrow’ which won the 2013 International Readers Favorite Silver Medal for Poetry, and ‘I AM (Poetry in Motion)’ are exclusively poetry although I AM was made with the idea of interweaving pictures and poetry to make the idea of empowerment, especially for females, leap off the page. Since those books I’ve started a New Adult Paranormal Series with Lycaon Press. I’ve also been picked up for a mystery as well as two short stories for an anthology for Breathless Press. I write for Breathless Press under a different pen name, H.K Sterling, only because I don’t want adult- themed books to get mixed up with anything I write for younger people. Then I still submit individual poems and short stories to magazines as well. I have two poems coming out in magazines in December, so that was exciting that they were accepted. Overall, I am finding I have certain genres that feel comfortable and others that I know I would not be able to write. You won’t see me writing historical fiction for example but science fiction- absolutely. You will see some of that coming from my pen name. My pen name, H.K. Sterling will be writing the more adult oriented plots in science fiction and short stories with a signature of twist endings.

 Can you give us the plot, characters and theme of your story or if this is a poetry book, can you give us the feel of it?

Well its packed full of action and surprises as well as characters that you want to get to know, and I can’t really say much because it would be a spoiler, but I can give you the blurb for it:

“What if to save the ones you love, you had to unlock the key to a different reality?

Generations of mystery smash together when a seemingly traditional family must shatter their illusions of normality to confront themselves and their friends, leaving no possibility unexplored in order to rescue- well, who exactly? Watch the Ross family, the High Five Gang, and multiple generations dig into an innovative explosion of imagination where they must confront numerous realities, real-world danger, and worst of all—their own teenage hormones!

In a place where nothing is as it seems and shocks are around every corner, even the people you thought you knew may find themselves strangers in this moving and provocative reality-bender. With breathless pacing and psychological intrigue, Erasing: Shadows and the High Five Gang will keep you guessing until the very end.”

Where did the idea come from?

I have millions of ideas and tons of blank books all over so I can hopefully capture them when they come to me. I wanted to do the Erasing Series and I wanted to write for the New Adult age group because I remember books leading me to new thoughts when I was younger and I wanted to write something that was entertaining but also makes the reader think at the same time. So that is where the Erasing Series came from.

Did you have to do a lot of research for your latest work?

About 10 years ago I made a point to study all the major disciplines on my own. I have a Master’s degree from a university but I mean I wanted to study all the other ones that had not been part of my curriculum. So I spent a good five years deep in study of philosophy, quantum physics, language, higher math such as set theory and cross-cultural spirituality so most of my writing is a product in some way of those intense years.   I occasionally have to google small things to make sure I’m right on something but in general I don’t do a lot of research. My creativity is pretty boundless, so I write things that rely on that.

Do you think your writing is improving the more you write?

I absolutely know for sure it is. I know that now, because I have an editor. LOL   When I only published indie, and mostly poetry, I was writing in one style, though of course I made sure my books were properly edited. Now I write for the publisher though and I am writing novels so the type of writing is different and I’ve had to learn some new tricks. So in that way, it has improved. I think the more we expand ourselves, we always improve.

Did you have any problems during the writing process of your latest work?

My only problem is starting, after I am into it, it’s hard to pull me away from my writing. I will say though that one of the challenges was creating a logical line throughout seven books. Also doing the math to make sure all the characters and their events worked out correctly was hard. Those are things I keep written down in a big book so I can refer back if needed.

What is it about writing that you enjoy so much?

My ideas need a place to go LOL – For example I just wrote an article on enhanced media which no one asked for and I had nowhere to publish it, but I just felt I had to write it. Sometimes it’s fun when you are writing like that. That article was published here by the way: www.wobcmagazine.com/7291/56558/a/the-re-emergence-of-the-book

That article came to life because I wanted us as a community of writers, aspiring writers, technology gurus, industry leaders, and publishing houses to look forward.

How much planning goes into a book?  Do you spend a long time planning or do you just start writing and see where it leads you?

I am a combination planner and plotter. I do plot out the entire book or series, as in the main logical flow of the storyline and arcs, but once I start writing I let it take me wherever it goes which sometimes involves redoing the plotting, but mostly it stays within the original boundaries. I equate it to the poets of old who wrote sonnets. How creative can you get, how far can you go within these limitations or these boundaries?

Do your fans encourage you to keep writing and do they give you ideas?

I’ll have to let you know when I have more fans. I’ve been lucky enough to have a few, but I am fairly newly “out there” (don’t try to stay in the shadows like I did when you first start), so I am building up a fan base. I expect this new series to create some people who want more, just like I expect the science fiction that will come from my pen name to create people who want more of that style of writing.

What is your experience of the Publishing industry?

Nothing but great things to say so far. I’ve been indie and I’ve had a publisher, and both taught different lessons. Now that I have a publisher I am going to stick with that. I feel very fortunate.

Is this book a part of a series?  Where is it going?

Yep! Well, Erasing: Shadows is Book One so besides being full of adventure you get introduced to many characters and concepts and secrets, so as the series goes, it will explore all of those more. There are a lot of secrets to yet come out! I am working on Book Two as we speak. That book, Erasing: Shattered is more about a few specific people from the first book and almost entirely set amid a college age crowd.

Have you had some good reviews for your book/s?

I’ve had excellent reviews for all of my indie books. You can get to them all from here:

http://www.amazon.com/K-D-Rose/e/B00830RFC0

Plus as I mentioned, my second book won an award as well as received an outstanding Kirkus Review.

My current book hasn’t been released yet, so fingers crossed!

If you couldn’t be a writer what would you do instead?

Like most writers I do have other employment but I try to keep the two worlds separate.

Your favourite Author is…

ee cummings.   I will always go back to poetry. Poetry to me is the root of higher language, ideas and concepts that cannot be expressed via normal methods.

I’m putting in a couple of links for our readers KD.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E._E._Cummings

http://www.amazon.co.uk/E.-E.-Cummings/e/B000APO8S0/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1385768701&sr=8-2-ent

Have you got a book trailer?

I had one for my first book, but not for this one. It’s something I should probably do. Just very busy now- what I do for promotion is really time consuming, plus you are writing, but I should add that to my list!

What do you do to wind down?

Catch up via the internet LOL but without writing. I don’t watch much TV (Except for Doctor Who!). Then my husband and I have rituals too that help us wind down. He makes me hot chocolate for example.

❤ Yay for Doctor Who! – and husbands who make hot chocolate (never had one of them, well not one that made a decent hot chocolate anyway – sounds divine!) – Mind you The Doctor as a husband who makes hot chocolate sounds even better LOL 😉 ❤

Do you belong to a friendly writers group and does it help?

I am so lucky that my publisher- Lycaon Press and Breathless Press really created that kind of atmosphere in- house and it’s wonderful. But I also rely on many Facebook groups. It’s awesome to see such intelligent people out there, who are also helpful and have created genuine community. That’s important since writing is such an individual thing to do, and such long hours alone doing it.

What is your experience of editing and polishing your manuscripts?

Pain in the you know what! You edit so much you get sick of your own story LOL. But it is one of the necessary evils so you do what you have to.

Any tips for all our budding authors out there wondering how to get started?

Learn the tools of your profession. Write without censoring, then when you edit, be ruthless. Figure out ahead of time what route you want to take (indie, literary, publishing house, small presses) but don’t be afraid to change it.

Link city – as many as you need to guide us round your internet trail…

 Join K. D. Rose on the following social media sites:

Website for the Erasing Series: http://kdroseworld.com/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00830RFC0

Blog: http://www.kdroseauthortales.com

Email: kd.rose@aol.com

Twitter: @kdrose1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/K.D.RoseWriter

Lycaon Press: http://www.lycaonpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6038789.K_D_Rose

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=184204909&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile

Here are KD’s other books just click on them to add them to your basket.

ImageImageImage

Thank you for joining us here on the ‘Bookish Banter’ and taking time out to give us such an interesting insight into your writing world.

Thank you so much for having me! – KD Rose

If you are an Author or artist and you would like to be featured – please email me at laura.crean@yahoo.co.uk with ‘Author or Artist Interview’ in the title line and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

