Bookish Banter – Featured Author – Patti Tingen

Published November 9, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

Saturday 9th November 2013
Bookish Banter is proud to present today’s Featured Author.
Introducing…

Patti

Patti Tingen

A God for all seasons

Please just give us a short intro all about you.


I live in beautiful Lancaster County, Pennsylvania with my husband Doug and our cat Braveheart. Working full-time keeps me busy along with serving in various ministry positions at my church that have included prayer, teaching and serving as an elder. I never planned to be an author but I am greatly enjoying this humbling, amazing journey.
You sound like a very busy lady and I’m sure your work in the church and fellowship in the community inspires you to write from the heart. Your faith and the Spirit of God through your pen will be what draws your readers to you and in my experience our life path never seems to go in the direction we plan – God obviously has something else planned for you  😀

How long have you been writing?


I started out about 5 years ago with a simple desire to preserve the stories of my remarkable cat Knickerbocker. It turned into something far greater than I would have ever imagined. He Was Never a Cat: Knick’s Story, My Story, Your Story became an incredible adventure as I honed my writing skills and formed lasting relationships throughout the writing, publishing and marketing process.
Aww! That’s a lovely story. It’s funny how our pets can inspire us – my soppy cat Fudge keeps looking at me as if to say ‘you going to write about me someday?’ Cats especially seem to have some amazing personalities don’t they? Here is a link to the book if any of our readers would like to buy a copy
http://www.amazon.com/HE-WAS-NEVER-CAT-Knicks/dp/1609104692/ref=pd_sim_sbs_b_1
Have you got a book to promote at the moment and can you tell us a little bit about it please?
I am currently promoting my latest book, A God for All Seasons: Inspiration and Reflection for All Times. It’s a non-fiction, Christian inspirational book that takes the reader on a yearlong journey, month by month. The book moves through the natural seasons of the year and each chapter correlates with a month, starting with December. Personal testimony and insights are offered for the various spiritual seasons that we all experience. The theme of the book is that God’s love and presence is with us through every time and season of our lives.
I really love this concept Patti and I shall be purchasing a copy to read throughout the year. I am sure you will be planting a few seeds with this book and the harvest will be the most glorious garden of colours to reflect this ❤ ❤ ❤

A God for all seasons

Where did the inspiration for your latest book come from?


During a time of reflection, I recognized in a deeper way than ever before, that God was with me in every single situation throughout my life. In every loss, every victory, every tear, and every joy—God was there.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 says, “There is a time for everything, a season for every activity under heaven.”

With new revelation, I understood that we truly have a God for all seasons. Then I thought, “That would make a great book title!”

It sure does and it is a book that will really be appreciated by your readership on an important spiritual theme.

BALI

Which genre do you write for or do you cross genres?


Both of my books are non-fiction inspirational.
Do you think you have improved as a writer since beginning your book and what lessons have you learnt about the process?
I definitely think I have improved and polished my writing with the second book. I give much of the credit to my fellow authors from an online writing site. It was a tremendous resource for feedback, encouragement and suggestions. I learned that although it feels vulnerable at first to share your work with others, the benefits far outweigh any concerns of what others may think. And I learned that although it’s hard work to develop your writing skills, it is definitely worth it in the end.

It sounds like you have really got a lot out of the experience and I think that is an important thing for other writers to remember – that writing is an experience as much for the author as for the reader. Making friends along the way is a big added bonus  🙂
Did you craft a carefully well thought out plan for the book or did it just flow naturally?
I had the general outline of the book as far as the chapter titles and moving through the seasons of the year. From there, some of it flowed naturally and quickly and some was a struggle. But I learned not to panic when I couldn’t find the words and to trust the Holy Spirit to guide my thoughts and let my writing flow from Him—in His timing.

The writing of the book itself then was an expression of the theme through the verse – Lovely!
Do you have a blog and do your fans encourage you?
I just started a blog! I look forward to interacting with followers and hearing their feedback on my thoughts.

Self-published or traditional or both?


Both of my books are self-published. I think it has been a good option for me but there are certainly pros and cons to either method of publishing.
Absolutely! I think that nowadays the industry can get very confusing – but at the end of the day, if you have something to say and people to say it to – it doesn’t matter how you get the word out as long as you do!   🙂
What other passions do you have apart from writing?

I love music, nature and animals.

❤ Me too ❤


Do you have a book trailer?
I have a newly produced book trailer that I absolutely love Jovon Tucker of Book2Buzz Productions! He created a beautiful trailer for me and it’s been generating great feedback and has really helped with my promotion of the book.

Here is Patti’s Trailer …

If you could give one piece of advice to a budding author – what would it be?
Be prepared for a lot of hard work but when you see your story in print, you’ll never regret it!
❤ Agreed – it IS worth the effort ❤
Where can we buy your book and like your fan pages?

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/author/pattitingen
Barnes&Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/patti-tingen
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/PattiTingenAuthor
Blog – http://pattitingen-author.blogspot.com/
Book trailer – http://www.youtube.com/all_comments?v=MtBpV4bVWag
Thank you for joining in the fun Patti – it was my pleasure featuring you here on the ‘Bookish Banter’.


If you are an Author and you would like to be featured here on the Bookish Banter please email me at laura.crean@yahoo.co.uk and put ‘Author Interview’ in the title.

Xx Laura Crean xX
❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

