I’m closing the book on the pages and the text

Published November 5, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

A great story about chance meetings and inspiration 🙂

No Time to Think

Iain BanksMY meeting and dinner with the late and great author Iain Banks is wholly memorable for so many reasons.

And it was totally unexpected.

I had long been an admirer of the Fife born author since I picked up The Wasp Factory at my local branch of WH Smiths in the late 1980s. It was a book I read in one sitting and returned to again and again.

Following that ground-breaking novel I began to consume almost everything Banks wrote. The Bridge and Espedair Street were similarly devoured in one go. Crow Road took a little longer and remains my favourite Iain Banks novel.

Well-thumbed copies of Complicity, Whit and a Song of Stone all sat on my bookshelves by the time I actually met the great man.

And the meeting was a complete and wonderful surprise.

It was early 1997, I was working as Chief Investigative Reporter at the…

View original post 539 more words

Leave a Reply

