camping and kids – looks like I’m moving house!!!

Published July 26, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

I know this is the first ever camping trip I have planned with the kids but when you are a single parent and don’t drive, it isn’t the easiest thing to try and do! LOL  Luckily I have great parents who do drive, so for this first attempt at camping, my Dad is going to drive us and all the equipment to my chosen camp site (just down the road for the first try), help me set up the tent – hopefully!  and then leave us to it – Gulp!  Having said that, by the looks of my hallway, you would think I am moving house rather than just going camping for a week.

I would never have thought this sort of holiday option would require so much planning, but my goodnes, I can’t help but wonder how nomadic tribes people have managed in the past to live constantly ready to pick up and leave with all their belongings hitched to a horse and be able to pitch up in a new area and live comfortably with everything they need!  How am I going to be able to manage without electricity for a week?  How are the kids for that matter?  Not to mention planning meals with just a camping burner and a couple of throw away barbeques!  I feel like I am off on an expedition to Mount Everest or something!  There’s only so much one can pack in a cool box too – and with just ice packs to keep it all fresh, I think I am going to have to be super creative with the meals.

The children have their own ideas about how they are going to entertain themselves while they are away, so first of all we have an extra body coming along as my middle daughter is bringing her friend!  I know she doesn’t want to be bored but – really?  LOL Two giggly teenage girls in one tent with just a flimsy screen between us and I’m sharing my bedroom (if you can call it that) with my 9 year old daughter who has just got a Ferbie for her birthday (rolling eyes) – God help me!

Right – I’m off to go and check my list again, see if I have missed anything, plan another pre-camping shopping trip and make sure the house is in order, the washing is up-to-date and the packing is under way.  Think I will need another holiday to get over this one when I’m done!

One comment on “camping and kids – looks like I’m moving house!!!

  • Leave a Reply

