Freedom isn’t Free—5 Common Tactical Errors in Self-Publishing

Published July 4, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

Truth summed up in an excellent article for self-published or wannabe self-publishers – check it out, there are lots of lessons to be learnt here.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

This business is hard work. There are no shortcuts. I recently self-published my new book Rise of the Machines–Human Authors in a Digital World (and it’s on sale for $7.04 to celebrate Independence Day). Yet, for the record, I had 1) sound business reasons for doing this (NY is too slow to publish anything about technology and I wanted creative control) and 2) I have at least a million and a half words under my belt just in blogs. Granted, I’m new to the whole self-publishing thing. I’ll share as I learn.

It’s great to have independence, but alas, Freedom isn’t free. We need a sound strategy or we can end up toast.

For the Record, I’m Switzerland

When it comes to publishing, I don’t take sides. I feel traditional publishing has a lot to offer. If I didn’t believe that, I wouldn’t spend so much time and effort challenging…

View original post 1,396 more words

Leave a Reply

