Day 6 NaPoWriMo – My Dark Blanket

Published April 6, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

‘Handling a Butterfly’ by Laura Crean.

My dark blanket wraps me tight

But holds no warmth in an endless night

Is it possible to suffocate

In a sinking saltiness bound by fate?

I summon up from deep within

My cloak of confidence to help me win

It keeps me covered for safety’s sake

But the cold still causes me to shake

The door stays bolted with locks of fear

That burn my fingers if I get too near

A daily battle I cannot win

And so I’m trapped by a simple line so thin

Only my angels understand

They take me by my lonely hand

And lead me out into the sun

With them I know I’ve already won

My feathered heart is given strength

Their wings of innocence my defence

Leave a Reply

