Day 5 – National Poetry Writing Month

Published April 5, 2013 by Laura Crean Author

It’s a miserable day here on the not so sunshine coast and I’ve been sitting here watching my cat watching the rain in his favourite spot in the window.  So my first post today is a poem for the kids – and I’m thinking it might make a good picture book!

(Inspired by my cat Fudge)

‘Fudge in his favourite spot’ by Laura Crean.

Rain on the Pane

Rain on the pane, drip, drip, drip.

Cat finds a game, pat, pat, pat.

Whiskers start to move, twitch, twitch, twitch.

His cleverness to prove, sly, sly, sly.

Now he spies a fly, buzz, buzz, buzz.

Starts leaping very high, up, up, up.

Fly escapes outside, free, free, free.

Cat lays on his side, purr, purr, purr.

Rain on the pane, drip, drip, drip.

Cat resumes his game, pat, pat, pat.

Tail starts to twitch, flick, flick, flick.

In comes the Witch, trick, trick, trick!

If you liked this poem and you would like to share more with your kids, I have 2 books of poems for children you can buy

Scooters ans Skateboards – http://www.lulu.com/shop/laura-crean/scooters-and-skateboards/paperback/product-20352176.html

Tickle me Turquoise Tickle me Pink – http://www.lulu.com/shop/laura-crean/tickle-me-turquoise-tickle-me-pink/paperback/product-20221330.html

I also have 3 books about a greedy little green dragon called Grifin all about numbers, letters, shapes and animals –

1 Little Dragon – http://www.lulu.com/shop/laura-crean/1-little-dragon/paperback/product-18832982.html

1 Little Dragon’s Alphabet Adventure – http://www.lulu.com/shop/laura-crean/1-little-dragons-alphabet-adventure/paperback/product-20084755.html

1 Little Dragon’s Shape Challenge – http://www.lulu.com/shop/laura-crean/1-little-dragons-shape-challenge-lions-and-tigers-and-bears-oh-my/paperback/product-20719864.html

6 comments on “Day 5 – National Poetry Writing Month

  • This is a really fun poem. I especially love the witch at the ending. Is the cat a “familiar”? It begs a whole side story that could be fun for illustrators to imagine. Lovely poem!

    Like

  • I enjoyed reading this, Laura. Not sure how National Poetry Writing Month passed me by – thanks for the info. Must start some poems of my own, inbetween the picture books, MG novel, synopses, teaching, housework etc etc!!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

